Ron Barlow wins Wallasey Mob Run

Ron Barlow had a fairly easy win for Wallasey in last Saturday's mob run held at Wallasey A.C.'s headquarters in Leasowe Road.

The weather was cold and the ground wet after Friday's rain. The course was over Bidston Hill and the distance was ? miles. Ron Barlow's time was 12 minutes 1 second . Roy Parry was second Wallasey runner in 24th place this being the first run for the club this season. Mark Aldridge was in 40th position when he crossed the line 10 places up on D. Grennan. John Young, also making his first club run this season was 5th man in 56th position.

The youths' race was about 3 miles in length and the going was quite tricky in places. Barry Smith was best placed W.A.C. runner in 14th place, with M. McNamee in 15th place; Ike Mason in 16th place and Robin Tarrant in 19th place. This was very good team running.

In the boys race, Dave Lockley, Wallasey had a hard time in trying to stay with the first three boys. First was A. Carhill of Waterloo, who recently won the Waterloo Schools road race and must be considered one of the best boys in the North. Second was Dave Buckley, the Northern Boys' cross country champion and third was Wood, also of Waterloo. Dave Lockley was 4th with Les Watcham some 50 yards astern in 5th place. Ray kay was 7th ahead of John Jones (8th)n and Dave oft day and came in one place Spencer (16th), Dave Adair had an ahead of D. Warrilow (18th). With such good team running Wallasey were able to claim first team with 24 pts. With Warrington 2nd with 28 points.

Our only contender for the junior boys race was Ian Wilson, who ran very well to come 4th. Wallasey had two entries in the ladies race which was won by J. Perry of Warrington. Barbara Banks of Wallasey put up a fine performance to come 2nd, this being the first race that the Wallasey girls have run in. Yvonne Broomhead ran very well to finish 7th.

Today Wallasey A.C.'s teams are to compete in the H. S. Finney Trophy at Blackpool.

The club's Christmas draw tickets are due in on Monday. Would members please either bring the money and counterfoils or unsold tickets in to the club or send them to either C. W. Gee or John Wright.


Ref 1383